Skip to main content


Max JensenJensen was an outstanding distance runner in high school and at Washington State College where he competed in cross country and track for the Cougars. He became a legendary cross country coach at Richland High School in the late 1960’s and early 1970’s. His teams won three WIAA state championships and he was named WIAA Cross Country Coach of the Year twice. Jensen was hired at Spokane Community College in 1972 to assist John Buck in cross country and track and field. He soon became the head cross country coach at SCC with his 1975 men’s team and 1982 women’s team each winning NWAACC championship titles. Jensen was named NWAACC Coach of the Year three times. Max retired in 2005 as a counselor at SCC and gave 33 years of outstanding service to many students. He has been selected for both the CCS and NWAACC Halls of Fame.


Duane HartmanHartman graduated from Bellarmine Prep High School in Tacoma as a multisport standout. He continued has higher education at Eastern Washington University where he was a four-year track letterman and a competitive weight lifter. Duane began his outstanding teaching and coaching career at Mead High School where he was head cross country (XC) and track and field (TF) coach and led his teams to many district and state championships. In 1978 Coach Hartman became head men’s XC coach at Spokane Community College and later added TF to his duties. His 1979 men’s XC team and six consecutive TF teams (1983-1988) all won NWAACC championship titles. Hartman also coached women’s XC and TF. His 1983 XC team captured the NWAACC championship. His coaching career included 16 second place winners. He was named NWAACC Coach of the Year ten times. Duane was a TF official for the National Junior Olympics, Olympic Trials, World University Games, and the 1966 Summer Olympic Games in Atlanta, Georgia. He was a member of the Washington State High School Coaches Hall of Fame and was a 25-Year Service Award winner from the Inland Northwest Sports Hall of Fame. Duane was inducted into the CCS Hall of Fame in 2001 and became a member of the NWAACC Hall of Fame in 2003.


Dale KennedyKennedy was hired in 1976 to start the women’s cross country (XC) and track and field (TF) programs at Spokane Community College. He had been a highly successful XC and TF coach at Central Valley High School in Spokane before joining the Sasquatch. He quickly built a successful program at SCC where he won three straight NWAACC women’s TF championships during the 1978, 1979 and 1980 seasons. Kennedy also coached the distance runners to four straight NWAACC Women’s Cross Country championships in 1976, 1977, 1978 and 1979 seasons. He was selected as NWAACC Coach of the Year on seven different occasions. He left SCC in 1980 to become the women’s XC and TF coach at Montana State University in Bozeman, Montana. His teams at MSU have won numerous Mountain West and Big Sky titles. Kennedy has also been named to both the CCS and NWAACC Halls of Fame.


Larry BeattyBeatty graduated from Port Angeles High School before beginning his college career at Green River Community College. His track success at GRCC was highlighted by winning the 1984 NWAACC 400 hurdle title and being named to the NWAACC Hall of Fame. After competing for the University of Portland (BA, 1987), he helped coach track and field (TF) and cross country (XC) at Western Oregon State College (MA, 1992). Larry accepted a XC and TF coaching job at Clark College where his teams won two men’s NWAACC TF titles. In 1996, Beatty was hired by Community Colleges of Spokane’s Athletic Director, Maury Ray, to be head coach for both the men’s and women’s XC and TF programs. He quickly built the most powerful XC/TF program in the history of the NWAACC, winning four women’s and six men’s XC titles in nine seasons. Beatty retired from coaching the XC programs in 2004 but continued to dominate the NWAACC TF championships. His Sasquatch TF teams won a total of 12 women’s and 13 men’s titles during his 15 seasons at the helm. His record of 29 NWAACC Coach of the Year awards and 35 NWAACC team titles at Spokane is incredible. Beatty retired from coaching TF in 2011 but has continued his work as a tenured physical education and health instructor at SCC.


Erik AndersonErik was both an outstanding athlete and a great coach in the NWAACC. He ran cross country (XC) and track and field (TF) for Clark College where he earned All-American honors in both sports. Anderson then went on to run for Linfield College in Oregon. There he earned two NAIA All-American awards in TF and XC, including a third-place finish nationally in the steeplechase and 17th in XC. His coaching career began as an assistant at Community Colleges of Spokane (CCS) from 1996-1999. In 1999 through 2003, Erik served as head coach for XC and TF at Clark College. Then in 2004, Anderson returned to CCS, taking over as head XC coach for both men and women. During his career, Erik was named NWAACC Cross Country Coach of the Year consecutively from 2002 through 2008, and NWAACC Track and Field Coach of the Year in 2001 and 2003. His CCS men's XC teams won championship titles in 2004 through 2008. Anderson’s women's XC teams at Clark won in 2002 and 2003, then at CCS in 2006, 2007 and 2008. His Clark College women's TF team won in 2003. In 2009 Erik was inducted into the CCS and NWAACC Halls of Fame.

Hall of Fame - Women's Cross Country