Skip Navigation Links

Counseling and Mental Health Services

SCC counseling faculty work with you to offer support and direction with your educational, personal, and professional goals. Counselors also may provide short-term mental health counseling for a variety of challenges.

However, if the problem is of an intense psychological nature, the counselor will refer you to an appropriate agency outside of Spokane Community College. Students may also be referred to masters-level mental health interns at SCC for therapy.

Please view our Confidentiality Statement for more information.

Reasons to Seek Help

  • Career counseling, exploration and decision making
  • Academic advising and educational planning
  • Managing transfers to a four-year university
  • Services for disability and multicultural concerns
  • Personal growth and self esteem issues such as:
    • Stress management
    • Time management
    • Social and relationship concerns
    • Anger management
    • Anxiety, grief, and loss
    • Military and combat-related stress
    • Feelings of depression

Our supervised interns offer free therapy to CCS students for ongoing mental health issues, such as:

  • Substance abuse concerns
  • Couples therapy
  • Family therapy
  • Problematic eating patterns
  • Gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgender concerns
  • Sexual assault/rape

Academic Standards Workshop Online

Access the Online Workshop for students who are on academic warning. For information about on-ground workshops, please contact Carmen Green, Carmen.Green@scc.spokane.edu or (509)533-7195

Choose the right counselor for your academic program. If you are undecided, pick an area of interest and begin with that program counselor.

Transfer Center

Hours: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Location: Building 1, Room 1220J (A on map)
Office Phone: (509) 533-8215
Fax: (509) 533-7020
Gretchen Ford, M.Ed., LMHC
Running Start Liaison, University Transfer Counselor
Gretchen.Ford@scc.spokane.edu
Cathy Shaffer, M.A., LMHC
Department Chair, University Transfer Counselor
Cathy.Shaffer@scc.spokane.edu

Allied Health & Nursing

Hours: 8:30 AM - 3:00 PM
Location: Building 9, Room 134A (C on map)
Fax: (509) 533-8621
Georgeanna Conrad, M.Ed.
Counselor, Health Science
Georgeanna.Conrad@scc.spokane.edu
Deanna Ortiz, Ph.D. - Health Science Counselor, Interim Mental Health Supervisor
Deanna.Ortiz@scc.spokane.edu

Jenkins Wellness Center

Location: Building 7, Room 122 (D on map)
Fax: (509) 533-8096
Hours:
Monday - Friday: 9:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Carmen Green, M.A., LMFT, LMHC
Mental Health Supervisor
Carmen.Green@scc.spokane.edu
Room 127, (509) 533-7195

Danielle Porter, Intern
Danielle.Porter@scc.spokane.edu

Erika Miley, Intern
Room 135
Erika.Miley@scc.spokane.edu

Cheryl Dalton, Intern
Cheryl.Dalton@scc.spokane.edu

Student Services

Hours: 7:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Location: Building 15, Room 120 (E on map)
Office Phone: (509) 533-7026
Fax: (509) 533-8839
Michelle Gendusa
Counselor, Part-Time
Michelle.Gendusa@scc.spokane.edu
Rebecca Goss, M.A., LMHC
Business Division Counselor
Rebecca.Goss@scc.spokane.edu
Bill Rambo, M.S.
University Transfer Counselor
Bill.Rambo@scc.spokane.edu
Ric Villalobos, M.S.
Environmental Sciences Prof Tech Counselor
Ric.Villalobos@scc.spokane.edu
   
 
(map)

  

Conrad, Georgeanna; Counselor
Conrad, Georgeanna; Counselor
Office: 9-134A
Phone: (509) 533-8622
Area of Interest: Health Science
 
Ford, Gretchen; Counselor
Ford, Gretchen; Counselor
Office: 01-1220Q
Phone: (509) 533-8062
Area of Interest: Running Start Liaison, University Transfer Counselor
 
Gendusa, Michelle; Counselor
Gendusa, Michelle; Counselor
Office: 15-120L
Phone: (509) 533-8196
 
Goss, Rebecca; Faculty Counselor
Goss, Rebecca; Faculty Counselor
Office: 15-120J
Phone: (509) 533-8449
Area of Interest: Business Division Counselor
 
Green, Carmen; Therapy Intern Supervisor
Green, Carmen; Therapy Intern Supervisor
Office: 7-127
Phone: (509) 533-7195
Area of Interest: Mental Health Supervisor
 
Ortiz, Deanna; Faculty
Ortiz, Deanna; Faculty
Office: 9-134B
Phone: (509) 533-7034
Area of Interest: Health Science Counselor, Interim Mental Health Supervisor
 
Rambo, Bill; Counselor
Rambo, Bill; Counselor
Office: 15-120C
Phone: (509) 533-7038
Area of Interest: University Transfer Counselor
 
Shaffer, Cathy; Counselor
Shaffer, Cathy; Counselor
Office: 01-1220P
Phone: (509) 533-8037
Area of Interest: Department Chair, University Transfer Counselor
 
Villalobos, Ric; Counselor
Villalobos, Ric; Counselor
Office: 15-111i
Phone: (509) 533-7356
 
Powered by Active Directory

© 1997-2014 Spokane Community College All rights reserved